How do you learn?

School, from 1st class all the way through university, was boring. Truly and utterly lacking in motivation. Teachers that had taught the same class for 20 years, never updating a syllable. Yes, I liked, still do, to learn new things. But what ever learning I walked away with, was almost a by-product of teaching.

I learned quick, and spent most of my time waiting for my peers to catch up with me in class. Bar mathematics, maths and anything related was difficult. But since I went to school when everyone was alike, teachers didn’t encourage you to do well. Nor did they seemingly care about anyone who had any type of learning disabilities. Looking back it’s a minor miracle that my generation can read and write.

Later, it later transpired that I have dyscalculia and that I needed glasses. But during the first 9 years in school I was ”just bad at maths.” And of course if all you hear is that you’re bad at something, it becomes the reality.  Just hearing that you’re good at something is a positive reinforcement. Well, at least it’s what I suppose.

Learning and studying

Also, school was all about studying, not learning. Thankfully more have caught on, a quick search on studying vs. learning – give 374’000’000 results and 985’000’000 results respectively. Because I remember those cramming hours, learning by heart, regurgitating then forgetting it forever. But at least you had a grade.

#Security+

Why am I freaking out so much over this?

Over the years, I’ve trained myself to do a sort of mental flow chart where I ask myself – based on the information I possess here and now; what is the worst that can happen? This then gives a basis of actions. Once I mentioned this to a colleague he said this is a classical coping technique, by mentioning and stating our fears they become manageable. Like pronouncing Voldemort instead of ”He Who Must Not Be Named. ” So what is the worst thing that can happen here and now? Failing the exam, which means a retake.

Nothing strange at all, it happens all the time. Why is it so scary?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lämna en kommentar