What do you work with? – Vad arbetar du med?

What am I working with? The question has been on my mind lately. As often it is related to the changes that come from using social media. We can agree that social media changes a lot, and we can be certain that our job as PR’s will be different tomorrow, just as our job today differs from our job of yesterday’s.

But my question comes from a real bewilderment – and it might be due to that I don’t speak English as mother tongue – but are we more and more referred to as “marketing”? Now for me marketing and PR are two sides of the same coin, or work cousins – you get the picture. Marketing is more figures based and they do advanced stuff like pricing and geo marketing. We as PR’s… well you do know what we are working with. But our math is usually a budget and that’s more often than not only deducting cost from a pot of money allocated to us.

Lately however, I’ve started to see marketing as an umbrella term, but when you read closer what the writer is all about they mean PR. Is it time to find a new industry name? Or am I just too set in my ways? Does a term even matter? I mean, as long as we achieve results. Still I sometimes wonder – what do we work with?

####

Vad jobbar jag med? Jag har ställt mig frågan på senaste tid. Som ofta är frågan relaterad till de förändringar som sociala medier innebär. Vi kan alla hålla med om att sociala medier kommer att förändra vårt jobb, precis på samma sätt som att vårt jobb idag inte ser likadant ut som det gjorde igår.

Fråga kommer sig av ren förbryllan, man talar allt mer om oss som ”marknadsföring.” För mig har marknadsföring och PR alltid varit två sidor av samma mynt, branchkusiner, ja, jag tror du förstår vad jag menar. Marknadsföring är mer sifferbaserad och marknadsförare jobbar med avancerade uppgifter som prissättning och geomarknadsföring. Vi som jobbar med PR … ja, du vet vad vi jobbar med. Och vår matematik är relaterad till en budget och det innbär oftast att vi subtraherar från den ursprungliga summan vi fått oss tilldelat.

Men jag ser allt oftare marknadsföring som en paraplyterm som refererar både till marknadsföring och PR, men när man tittar närmare talar skribenten ofta om PR. Är det dags för ett nytt branschnamn? Eller är jag helt enkelt inte tillräckligt flexibel? Och spelar egentligen en term någon roll? Så länge vi åstadkommer resultat. Men ändå ibland undrar jag – vad arbetar vi med?

Kommentera

